In 1829 Samuel Leigh, a bookseller of 18 Strand, published The Panorama of the Thames from London to Richmond, exhibiting every object on both banks of the river, with a concise description of the most remarkable places and a General View of London. Leigh created the panorama over two summers making sketches as he journeyed on steamships up the river. The panorama, covering a 15-mile stretch of the river, consisted of 46 printed hand water-coloured sections, folded into a concertina and stored in a hard-back case. It was priced at £2 16s for the colour version and £1 8s for monochrome. The panorama was aimed at tourists as they steamed up the Thames, so that they could identify the houses and occupants as they went past.
The Mortlake section shows the Parish Church, a dozen large house such as The Limes, The Cedars and Leyden House; three public houses - White Hart, Queen's Head and The Ship; and industrial buildings including two breweries, malt houses, potteries and the former tapestry works.
Until recently Leigh's panorama was a little-known work but it has now been digitally restored by the Panorama of the Thames Conservation Project who have added descriptions for most of the buildings, written as they would have been in 1829.
To view the Mortlake section of the Panorama, click here. When you see the page on the right, click on the down arrow by Westminster 1829 and select Mortlake and Barnes 1829 from the dropdown menu. From the lower dropdown menu select White Hart and Parish Limit.